Advisory Board Members

Mr Peter Laybourn, Chair of Advisory Board

Chief Executive, International Synergies Ltd

Peter is the founder and Chief Executive of International Synergies. Peter devised International Synergies’ flagship project the National Industrial Symbiosis Programme (NISP) and has since helped to see similar projects established in over 20 countries around the world.  Peter graduated with a degree in Economics and Ecology from the University of Southampton and spent 18 years in the aerospace manufacturing industry as contracts and commercial manager at GEC Marconi, Smiths Industries and Meggitt Aviation & Marine before completing a second degree in Marine Environmental Management.

He established the Business Council for Sustainable Development-UK in 2002 and held the position of Deputy Chief Executive for four years before leaving to establish International Synergies. Peter was the Sustainability Leader of the year in 2013/14 and is often asked to be a keynote speaker on industrial symbiosis and the circular economy.  He has provided expert evidence to many bodies including the House of Lords, House of Commons and European Commission; leading to the inclusion of industrial symbiosis in a number of policies and to the G7 making industrial symbiosis the first themed workshop under the new “Alliance on Resource Efficiency”.

Mr Jonathan Shaw

Chief Executive, Policy Connect


Jonathan became Chief Executive of Policy Connect in May 2016. He worked as a farm worker, care assistant, social worker and local councillor before being elected to Parliament for three terms between 1997-2010.

During his time as an MP, he was: a member of the Environmental Audit and Education Select Committees; Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Education; Government Whip; Minister for Marine, Landscape and Rural Affairs; Minister for Disabled People; and also Regional Minister for South East England. Before joining Policy Connect, Jonathan led a consultancy company, the Shaw Business Partnership, supporting a range of organisations across the public, private and voluntary sectors. He co-founded the housing and employment consortium Give us a Chance, developed an award-winning partnership to assist ex-offenders to gain employment and established a leadership programme for the public sector.

Jonathan is chair of the Kent-based charity the Blackthorn Trust which assists with mental and physical rehabilitation and is based on the principles of Rudolf Steiner.

Mr Mark Reed

Senior Funding Manager, Birmingham City Council

Prof Ben Clegg

Head of Operations & Information Management Department, Aston Business School


Ben's research, teaching and consulting activities focus on operations and process improvement. He draws upon theoretical ideas, such as systems thinking and multi-organisation enterprise management, to implement practical solutions for organisations. In turn practical case studies and insights are used to further develop theory about operations and process improvement.

Prof Sam Turner

Chief Technology Officer, High Value Manufacturing Catapult


Professor Sam Turner is the Chief Technology Officer (CTO) of the High Value Manufacturing (HVM) Catapult. He joined the HVM Catapult team from his role as CTO of the Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre (AMRC) with Boeing, where he worked on a range of projects and capabilities including the flagship digital facility Factory 2050, machining, casting and composites technology.


As a founding member of the AMRC, Sam developed the AMRC’s Machining Group to its current level of 85 staff and £5M turnover, with successes in delivering impact to UK industry, before moving into the CTO role. In addition to his industrial work, Sam has secured Innovate UK, EPSRC and EU funding for over £20M for manufacturing R&D in machining and automation. He has written over 40 publications, including 16 journal papers in the area of machining. Sam is active in machining, automation and digital manufacturing and chairs the Digital Engineering and Manufacturing Leadership Group.

Prof Lenny Koh

Director of the Advanced Resource Efficiency Centre (AREC), University of Sheffield


Professor Lenny Koh, BEng (Hons), PhD, FRSA, is a Chair Professor in Operations Management, Founders and Directors of the Logistics and Supply Chain Management (LSCM) Research Centre at the Management School & the Faculty’s Centre for Energy, Environment and Sustainability (CEES), at The University of Sheffield, UK. She is also the co-founder of Supply Chain Management and Information Systems (SCMIS) Consortium, a global network of leading academic and practitioners driving research and knowledge exchange on supply chain and information systems.


A World leading mind recognised amongst FRSs and Nobel Laureates within the University, Professor Koh is a Senior Chair Professor, an internationally renowned and established authority in supply chain especially on low carbon and sustainability, with a high H-index (World number 2) and high research income generation in her discipline internationally. She is active in leading a 2022 Futures initiative advancing resource efficiency and supply chain disciplines, navigating a new translational model for connecting invention/basic science at lower TRL to higher TRL.

Prof Michael Bourlakis

Director of Research, Cranfield School of Management


Professor Michael Bourlakis holds the Chair in Logistics, Procurement and Supply Chain Management.  He is the Director of Research for Cranfield School of Management, the Head of the Logistics, Procurement and Supply Chain Management Group and the Director of the Centre of Logistics, Procurement and Supply Chain Management. He was appointed at Cranfield School of Management in 2013.  Previously, he worked at Brunel University Business School (Leadership Roles: Director of Postgraduate Studies for 7 MSc programmes, “Impact” Champion for REF2014, Director of OASIS Research Centre), Kent University Business School (Leadership Roles: Head of Marketing and Supply Chain Management Group, Director of Enterprise), Newcastle University (Leadership Roles: Director of Undergraduate and Postgraduate Programmes), Oxford University Templeton College (Oxford Institute of Retail Management), Leicester University Management Centre.

Prof Vitaliy Khutoryanskiy

Professor of Formulation Science, University of Reading

Dr Tom Kirkham

Business Development Manager, STFC (Science & Technology Facilities Council)

Dr Jakobus Groenewald

Lead Engineer, WMG Catapult


Dr Jakobus Groenewald graduated with a First-Class BEng Honours degree in Electronic Engineering from the University of Bangor in 2010. He subsequently completed his Ph.D. in optical communications systems at the University of Bangor in 2014. In November 2014, Jakobus was appointed as a Research Fellow on the ABACUS project that forms part of the WMG High Value Manufacturing team to conduct research into innovative business models and design approaches for extending the in-service battery life of future low carbon vehicles. In 2016 he was appointed as Test Facilities Engineer for the 3xD simulator at WMG. In 2017 Jakobus was promoted to Lead engineer in WMG's Connected and Autonomous Vehicles Research Group.

Join Us

Contact Us

Business School
Aston University
B4 7ET
Maps and directions

Copyright 2019 UKMSN+ All Rights Reserved.